Weekly mileage 25 Sept. – 1 Oct., 2011

After church on Sunday morning I ran 5 1/4 miles.  I wanted to go farther, but this felt unreasonably difficult, so I just came home.  I ran at approximately 8:30/mile pace.  Probably started too fast.

On Monday, I ran 4 miles at 8:23 pace, again starting too fast.  I also lifted weights.

On Tuesday, I ran 4 miles at 8:10 pace, in a deliberate effort to go faster than usual, but also to punish myself for starting too fast yet again.  I try to discipline myself by insisting on negative splits, regardless of my pace in the first mile.  That should teach me.

But it doesn’t seem to be teaching me, does it?

On Wednesday I skipped my morning run to mow the lawn, but I ran in the afternoon with Th.  We ran 3 miles in just under 30 minutes.  Normally, I would do Pilates after a Wednesday morning run, but I don’t like to do them cold, so I skipped those as well.

On Thursday, I worked at the library all morning.  This is my usual day off running.

Today is Friday, and I will run 3 or 3 1/2 miles with Th. when he gets home.  I was going to run this morning too, but then time got away from me and before I knew it, it was after 10 and I was hungry again.  Also, it occurs to me that one cannot complain about not having enough free time to write blog posts, meanwhile insisting on running twice a day.

Tomorrow I shall have to run at least 5 or 6 miles.

My mileage is back down around 20 miles/week because, although I enjoyed 30 very much, it was a little too time-consuming.  And food-consuming.  I was running around 30 per week in preparation for what I hoped would be a 5K PR.  I raced in the last week of August and was a little disappointed, and then we left on vacation.  For two weeks I ran very little, and now that I’m back into it, I find I’d rather work on the house than run back and forth on the bike path all day.  My motivation usually comes back in the winter; for now, I’m just running as a way to enjoy the weather.

Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

