Weekly mileage 2 Oct. – 8 Oct., 2011

Sunday, 2 October: 4.5 miles at 8:41 pace

Tuesday, 4 October: 5.25 miles at 8:30 pace, plus weights

Wednesday, 5 October: am: 4.5 miles at 8:39 pace, plus pilates; pm: 3.5 miles at about 9:08 pace

Friday, 7 October: 4 miles at about 8:30 pace

Saturday, 8 October: 4 miles at 8:10 pace

Total: 25.75

I’m pleased with this.  I was up over twenty miles before I knew it, and it all felt pretty easy.

Oh?  You think that’s because I’m obviously not pushing the pace?  Yes, I have a tendency to use my watch for informational purposes only.  So, I look at my time and think, “Yep, okay.  That’s my pace,” rather than, “Oh, that’s too slow.  I should be under 8:00,” and then speed up accordingly.  Do you know what I mean?

If you want to go faster, you have to actually obey the watch.  But that’s only if you want to go faster.  I just read this article in Runner’s World.  Someone wrote in and asked, “You keep telling me that I need to do speed workouts to get faster.  But what if I don’t care about being faster?”  The answer was something like, “Oh.  Well, then, yeah.  You don’t have to do anything you don’t want to.  Just go running.  Who cares?  Why are you listening to us anyway?”

My husband will ask me, “Who are these imaginary people to whom you’re defending yourself?  And why do you care what they think?”  Well, I’m just putting my mileage up here because sometimes I have little comments about my pace or some strange pain in my foot or something, and it’s not enough to make an anecdote out of, but it’s still there in my head.  If I know you in real life, and you’ve heard me say, “It seemed like there was so much to tell you, but I can’t think now what it was…” it was probably something boring about a run.

Also, I never did go running last Saturday because we were tired from lugging soggy drywall around, so my total for that week was 19.25.

Leave a comment

2 Comments

  1. Kimberly

     /  9 October, 2011

    I think a lot of these imaginary people think your pace is impressive, and moreover are impressed that you run *in a week* more than they’ve run in their lives.

    Regarding the “go faster” bit: I feel this way about earning more money. There are lots of websites that are always giving you tips on how to earn more money, reminding you that being frugal will only go so far and that you have to “up your income” to really build wealth. Problem is, I feel like we have more than we need (not a bad thing, don’t misunderstand), and it’s easy for me to forget that I have no interest in earning extra money (unless it takes exactly zero time)….though I always feel like I’m supposed to.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

