For dunking cookies

On Sunday evening, I needed a warm beverage to accompany oatmeal chocolate chip cookies.  I had already eaten two cookies earlier that day, hot from the oven, with coffee, so more coffee was out of the question.  I don’t drink milk, and a cookie with just a glass of water is so sad.  But I found the perfect thing.

I can hardly believe I’m recommending this, as it totally contradicts what I just said, but what sounded good to me at the time was, of all things, warm milk.

Gross, right?  I learned about sweetened warm milk from some Spanish exchange students in college.  They drank it for dessert.  I was disgusted at the time, but if you think about it, it’s just like cocoa, only vanilla-flavored.  Sometimes they stirred in hazelnut-flavored coffee creamer.

So, this is what you do.  Heat about a quarter of a cup of milk in the microwave.  Add a teaspoon of sugar, some vanilla extract, and a dash of cinnamon.  Serve with cookies. 

This works well if you don’t like milk because you don’t really have to drink it.  Just dunk the cookies, eat them, and move on.  There’s very little milk wasted.  Because there are other flavors in there, you can pretend it’s not really milk.  But, I admit — I drank it.  Yes.  And it had little bits of cookie floating in it.  I don’t know what came over me.

Cocoa is wonderful, and back home, that’s what we had every night, even in the summertime, with cookies if they were available.   But sometimes it’s too much, depending on what kind of cookie you have.  You cannot eat double chocolate cookies with a cup of cocoa.  Not even my mother does that, and she has a super-human tolerance for chocolate.

So, has anyone else tried this?  There are lots of ways to go.  This recipe calls for nutmeg instead of cinnamon.  You could add instant coffee or any other flavor extract you have around.

Leave a comment

4 Comments

  1. Kimberly

     /  11 October, 2011

    Well, since you asked…my initial response is, of course, “Eww, gross.” Followed by, “You, of all people?” However, a friend of mine likes something called a Vanilla Steamer. She gets it at coffee shops, as she doesn’t like coffee. You can also get Almond Steamers or Hazelnut. It sounds like this, except I imagine there’s steamed milk involved. I’ve tried a few sips, and it’s okay, but it seemed really sweet, and I had the sinking suspicion that I was drinking warm milk. I think it would take a lot of mind-over-matter to make it at home, though the “just like cocoa” rational would help.

    Reply
  2. Kimberly

     /  11 October, 2011

    Also, it seems that cultivating an enjoyment of tea would help you with a number of your problems.

    Reply
    • Yes, I’ve been enjoying black tea this year, which is new. I always hated it. But, again, the caffeine. I haven’t enjoyed any of the caffeine-free teas I’ve tried.

      Reply
  3. Glen

     /  13 October, 2011

    This might be good with a tablespoon of brandy or rum.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

